Skip Navigation
Angelo State University
Department of History

Search Site

Information for:

Angelo State University's History Department faculty and staff, spring 2017.

Faculty News

  • Dr. Kenna Archer

    Dr. Kenna Archer of the Angelo State University history faculty has been awarded the 2018 UNT Special Collections Research Fellowship by the University of North Texas Libraries .

  • Prof. Wongsrichanalai
    Prof. Wongsrichanalai’s essay “Loyal to the Union: College-Educated Soldiers, Military Leadership, Politics, and the Question of Loyalty” has been published in a new work edited by Robert Sandow. Fordham University Press released the volume, Contested Loyalty: Debates Over Patriotism in the Civil War North , in its spring catalog.
  • Prof. Kenna Archer.
    Prof. Kenna Archer has won a Portal to Texas History Research Fellowship to facilitate use of the Portal to Texas History, a digital repository of primary sources. She is currently working on her third book manuscript, which is a social, cultural, and environmental history of air conditioning in Texas.
  • Prof. Kenna Archer
    Dr. Kenna Archer recently won a Special Collections Fellowship from the University of North Texas. She is currently working on a history of riparian development in Texas (tentatively titled Mucking it Up:  A History of Rivers, Politics, and Improvements in Texas) and will visit the Special Collections at UNT this summer.
  • Prof. Julien Zarifian discusses the Armenian Genocide and America's responses to the event at the...
    Prof. Julien Zarifian, a Fulbright scholar from the University of Cergy-Pontoise (France), who is spending the year at the Shoah Foundation Center for Advanced Genocide Research at the University of Southern California, visited Angelo State University for the Great War Series. He spoke on the Armenian Genocide and America’s response to the event. He also visited several classes while on campus and also spoke to students in the Honors Program. His visit was made possible by the Outreach Lecture Fund as well as the National Endowment for the Humanities.
  • Prof. John Irish at the Great War Event on Mar. 26, 2018
    Prof. John Irish, Dept. of Visual & Performing Arts, spoke to a crowd of over 150 at the C. J. Davidson Center about the musical traditions of the Great War Era. Going through some of the popular musical trends of the period, Prof. Irish also noted the contributions of African-American musicians and the emergence of jazz.
  • Prof. Allison Robbins, Dept. of Music, University of Central Missouri, visited Angelo State as a ...
    Prof. Allison Robbins, Dept. of Music, University of Central Missouri, shared her research on female impersonation in Great War Era U.S. armed forces camps with an audience of over 150 in Cavness 100. Prof. Robbins showed clips and also provided some background on the culture of the period.
  • Preston Lewis
    In the first event in the Great War Centennial Commemoration Lecture Series of the spring 2018 semester, Preston Lewis, an author for former director of the Angelo State University Office of Communications and Marketing, introduced the audience to the story of Daniel R. Edwards, a recipient of the Congressional Medal of Honor. Lewis told more than just Edwards’s biography, however. He also discussed the difficulties of telling truth from fiction in writing about an individual who claims to have accomplished tasks that were impossible. The audience of nearly 170 learned a great deal about Mr. Edwards’s service but also about the job that an historian performs in studying the past.
  • Prof. Wongsrichanalai
    Profs. Susana Badiola (Dept. of Political Science & Philosophy) and Kanisorn Wongsrichanalai (Dept. of History) were honored at the Texas Tech University System’s Chancellor’s Council Gala in Lubbock on February 9. Both of them were featured in the video produced for all of the system’s award winners.
  • Photo: ASU President Brian J. May, Dr. Kanisorn Wongsrichanalai, Dr. Susana Badiola and TTUS Chan...

    Texas Tech University System Chancellor Robert Duncan recently recognized 14 faculty members from the system’s four component institutions as recipients of the 2018 Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching and Research Awards. These awards recognize excellence in academics and research, and are the most prestigious honors granted to faculty members throughout the TTU System.